Standard and technological core: VDV core application and (((etiCORE

VDV-Kernapplikation (VDV-KA): This is the name of our open data and interface standard for electronic ticketing or electronic fare management (EFM) in public transport. The VDV-KA is the technological core of the electronic ticketing system (((eTicket Deutschland, on which the EFM systems of transport associations and companies introduced throughout Germany are based.

We are currently developing version 3 of the VDV core application. To enable international manufacturers of components and systems as well as transport companies abroad to work with our open standard in the future, the new version will also be published in English - and will be given an international name: (((etiCORE

Function and expansion stages of the VDV core application

If you work with the VDV-KA as a transport company, you can decide yourself which range of functions you want to use or offer to your customers. A participation agreement serves as the basis, which primarily regulates organizational issues so that all connected systems can work together on an equal footing and in an automated manner.

From a technological point of view, the respective user media (chip cards, NFC or RFID-capable user media such as smartphones) of the (((eTicket Deutschland support all existing expansion variants, even if only certain functions should be enabled in the respective area of use.

Expansion stage 1: (((ePayment
Passengers buy a paper ticket without cash using a prepaid card (or postpaid card). Transport companies issue chip cards with a so-called payment authorization for this purpose. This is also included in the higher expansion variants.


Expansion stage: (((eTicket
Passengers receive a chip card on which a ticket is stored. For example, a monthly pass, a job ticket, an annual season ticket or a semester ticket. These season tickets are checked electronically for validity during an inspection.


Expansion stage 3: automatic calculation

Passengers check in with their (((eTicket at a permanently installed terminal when boarding a vehicle and check out again when alighting. The fare is calculated on the basis of the distance traveled and debited from the customer account. 

Here you get all specifications and releases

At the beginning of December 2021 we have published the VDV KA release 1.10.0. Since then, the release is available for download in the  ASM-Tool. There, participants in (((eTicket Germany can access all specifications of VDV KA free of charge.

The new version of VDV KA is currently under development. It will be called (((etiCORE and will also be available in English. Here you can find the current Release-Plan.

The bilingual glossary for the specifications VDV-KA 1.x and (((etiCORE can also be downloaded here.

Download Glossary

The future of the VDV core application is called (((etiCORE

(((etiCORE stands for everything that makes us special - from the three brackets of contactless payment to its core. The internationally understandable pronunciation is also accompanied by the simplification of the standard: (((etiCORE is an improved and, above all, leaner version of the VDV core application.

With (((etiCORE, certificate extensions ensure that user media and SAMs can be used significantly longer. This saves costs. In addition, the ordering and distribution of keys is largely eliminated, which reduces the complexity of handling. In the application, the speed of the issuing, control and capture processes increases significantly.

Together we develop (((etiCORE

The VDV core application 1.X will remain the VDV core application until it is completely shut down and archived in 2031. (((etiCORE will become active in 2026. From that time on we will operate both the VDV core application and (((etiCORE in parallel.

Already now we provide working documents around (((etiCORE on our collaboration platform (((efi. There you can ask questions and discuss in the forum with us and manufacturers as well as employees of transport companies. In this way, the next generation of the eTicket standard will benefit from the operational experience of the entire public transport sector and the industry involved.

Join now and register in the (((etiCORE group.

Join (((etiCORE group

Standard und technologisches Herzstück: VDV-Kernapplikation und (((etiCORE

VDV-Kernapplikation (VDV-KA): So heißt unser offener Daten- und Schnittstellen-Standard für elektronisches Ticketing bzw. Elektronisches Fahrgeldmanagement (EFM) im Öffentlichen Personenverkehr. Die VDV-KA ist das technologische Herzstück des elektronischen Fahrkartensystems (((eTicket Deutschland, auf dem die deutschlandweit eingeführten EFM-Systeme von Verkehrsverbünden und -unternehmen basieren.
Aktuell entwickeln wir die Version 3 der VDV-Kernapplikation. Damit in Zukunft auch internationale Hersteller von Komponenten und Systemen sowie Verkehrsunternehmen im Ausland mit unserem offenen Standard arbeiten können, erscheint die neue Version auch auf Englisch - und erhält einen internationalen Namen: (((etiCORE

Funktion und Ausbaustufen der VDV-Kernapplikation

Wenn Sie als Verkehrsunternehmen mit der VDV-KA arbeiten, können Sie selbst entscheiden, welchen Funktionsumfang Sie nutzen oder Ihren Kunden anbieten möchten. Als Grundlage dient ein Teilnahmevertrag, der vor allem organisatorische Fragen regelt, damit alle angeschlossenen Systeme gleichberechtigt und automatisiert zusammenarbeiten können.

Technologisch gesehen unterstützen die jeweiligen Nutzermedien (Chipkarten, NFC- oder RFID-fähige Nutzermedien wie z. B. Smartphones) des (((eTicket Deutschland sämtliche vorhandenen Ausbauvarianten, auch wenn im jeweiligen Einsatzgebiet nur bestimmte Funktionen freigeschaltet sein sollten.

Ausbaustufe 1: (((eBezahlen
Fahrgäste kaufen mit einer Prepaid-Karte (oder Postpaid-Karte) bargeldlos einen Papierfahrschein. Dafür geben Verkehrsunternehmen Chipkarten mit einer sogenannten Bezahlberechtigung aus. Diese ist auch in den höheren Ausbauvarianten enthalten. 

Ausbaustufe 2: (((eTicket
Fahrgäste erhalten eine Chipkarte, auf der ein Ticket gespeichert ist. Zum Beispiel eine Monatskarte, ein Jobticket, ein Jahresabo oder ein Semesterticket. Diese Zeitkarten werden bei einer Kontrolle elektronisch auf ihre Gültigkeit geprüft. 

Ausbaustufe 3: automatische Berechnung
Fahrgäste checken mit ihrem (((eTicket beim Einsteigen in ein Fahrzeug an einem fest installierten Terminal ein, beim Aussteigen wieder aus. Anhand der gefahrenen Strecke wird der Fahrpreis berechnet und vom Kundenkonto abgebucht. 

Hier bekommen Sie alle Spezifikationen und Releases

Anfang Dezember 2021 haben wir das VDV KA-Release 1.10.0. veröffentlicht. Das Release steht seit dem im ASM-Tool zum Download zur Verfügung. Dort stehen stehen Teilnehmern an (((eTicket Deutschland alle Spezifikationen der VDV KA kostenfrei zur Verfügung. 

Die neue Version der VDV KA befindet sich in der Entwicklung. Sie wird (((etiCORE heißen und auch in englischer Sprache erscheinen. Hier finden Sie den aktuellen Release-Plan.

Das zweisprachige Glossar für die Spezifikationen VDV-KA 1.x und (((etiCORE können Sie ebenfalls hier herunterladen.


Download Glossar

Die Zukunft der VDV-Kernapplikation heißt (((etiCORE

(((etiCORE steht für all das, was uns ausmacht – von den drei Klammern des kontaktlosen Bezahlens bis zu dessen Kern. Mit der international verständlichen Aussprache geht auch die Vereinfachung des Standards einher: (((etiCORE ist eine verbesserte und vor allem schlankere Version der VDV-Kernapplikation.

Bei (((etiCORE sorgen Zertifikatsverlängerungen dafür, dass Nutzermedien und SAMs deutlich länger verwendet werden können. Das spart Kosten. Außerdem entfallen die Bestellung und Verteilung von Schlüsseln weitgehend, was die Komplexität des Handlings reduziert. In der Anwendung steigt die Geschwindigkeit bei den Ausgabe-, Kontroll- und Erfassungsprozessen deutlich.

Gemeinsam gestalten wir (((etiCORE

Die VDV-Kernapplikation 1.X bleibt so lange die VDV-Kernapplikation, bis sie im Jahr 2031 vollständig abgeschaltet und archiviert wird. (((etiCORE wird 2026 aktiv. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt werden wir sowohl die VDV-Kernapplikation als auch (((etiCORE parallel betreiben.

Bereits jetzt stellen wir auf unserer Kollaborationsplattform (((efi Arbeitsdokumente rund um (((etiCORE zur Verfügung. Dort können Sie Fragen stellen und im Forum mit uns und Herstellern sowie Mitarbeitenden von Verkehrsunternehmen diskutieren. So profitiert die nächste Generation des eTicket-Standards von der Betriebserfahrung der gesamten ÖPV-Branche und der beteiligten Industrie.

Steigen Sie jetzt ein und melden Sie sich in der (((etiCORE Gruppe an.

Zur (((etiCORE Gruppe